Saint Just - Saint Just Again - Prog Explosion (CDr, Album)

The instrumental textures cotton on quickly, and reach a similar level of sublimity This is much closer to the original style of Marillion - even the Celtic flavoured guitar is there. A frantic gypsy-style violin drives the textures forward, and everything gets rather chaotic - I'm put in mind slightly of Comus' "First Utterance" in flavour - but chaotic is good, and this doesn't get strung out A pause and another complete change of texture, and we feel like we're listening to a new track - but this is just an odd little interlude that doesn't progress the music at all.

An odd way to end the piece, which sets up expectations that the rest of the album is going to be somewhat inconsistent Jane Sorrenti treats us to some more sublime vocals that I would like to hear "soar" a little more - maybe that's just me.

The music gently winds its way onwards - progresses - then suddenly changes to a more "rock" moment with a Spanish flavour and some really peculiar time changes. This gets slightly uncomfortable, but maintains the intrigue well enough to not only prevent me from even thinking about the skip button, but instead makes me anticipate the next time I listen to this album. An open invitation indeed. The music develops subtly and continually, with some really great thematic development and conversations happening between the instruments and particularly the vox, which enter a "moment" - one of those rare bits of pure prog that really hits me as perfect.

Unfortunately for my taste buds, this is not maintained, but fortunately for progression, this is moved on and developed. Saint Just may not have the uncanny feel for musical development of, say, Gentle Giant, but they have something close - a natural feel for when the music needs to move on, and, on the whole, the ability and clarity of musical vision to make it happen "just right" - just, maybe, a tad hesitantly. Still, their naievity has a charm all of its own, and 11 minutes still ends up feeling a mite too short for this piece!

I'm put in mind of Jefferson Airplane on a bad day. Around we get a nice change with vocals that remind me a little of Clannad, and textural changes that are rather inconsistent. Sadly, this is much too short, and the song never picks up, develops or, more importantly, improves despite my hope that it will. The title track is kind of more of the same - but fortunately, more of the same of the good stuff that preceeded "Viaggio Nel Tempo". Nothing ground breaking or earth-shattering here, but Jane Sorrenti's vocals are captivating, even when she's just singing "La-la-la".

Frankly, she could be singing about doing the washing up or mucking out the cowshed and it would still sound entrancing. This song enters more into jam territory, and is far less structured or progressive than earlier tracks - but I could care a whole lot less. Frankly, this track could be on continuous repeat and I probably wouldn't get tired of it after a day. OK, an hour maybe Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May Wednesday 6 May Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Her high-pitched and eccentric delivery could be seen as an exciting style or just plain caterwauling depending on your viewpoint.

I enjoy both her vocals and the musical schizophrenia very much. The 10 minute opener encapsulates the album well and Steve is correct to point out that there is a homemade sound to the recording akin to early Amon Duul II.

And yet small details emerge with each listen that prove the slick productions of today are not necessarily preferable when the intent is this kind of experience. It is precisely the loose style that helps the album work to fullest potential. Not for everyone but a must for avant-folk lovers. Despite the complexity of the music, the instrumentation is rather sparse this helps fuelling the weirdness.

The closing eponymous track is sung by Jane, but this time in French credible although never sounding more Chinese or Newsom, herself but it mighjt bethe album's weaker moment. A superb and somehow frightening debut album from one of Italy's lesser-known prog band, SJ's debut album is maybe in the top 10 Italian album of that decade, and probably of all time.

Unlike Pierrot Lunaire, though, their second album will not remain in the same avant-folk realm, but aim to fuller less sparse jazz-rock with a reinforced line-up. This was an Italian trio from Naples who set out with the intent of creating a unique, modern sound that at the same time respected tradition and was dreamy and colorful and free from any restrictions of convention.

Grazie davvero. Dimenticavo, lei mi disse poco tempo fa in quel del concerto dei Curved Air, che ha intenzione di riformare i Saint Just. Io da quel burlone che sono gli ho chiesto: Richiamerai anche tony esposito? Nella sua espressione c'era la risposta chiara e limpide, e dopo aver capito la provocazione ironica si mise a ridere. Cmq bravissima da sempre!! Bella la copertina!.. Giganti [] Records only limited vinyl, plus four snapshots recorded in the studio in the second half of , just the "other stories".

It serves to dampen the expectation of the fourth album of Saint Just, which promises to be full of "prog attitude", even if the definitions are always too stifling for the world of this friend of music, really a Lady Prog par excellence.

Jenny still has a crazy desire for music. Despite having breathed it, lived and elaborated since the 70s, he never has enough: music as the primary reason of life.

Romantic Evening Sex All Themes. Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Track Listing. Il Fiume Inondo.

Prog Explosion (as Saint Just Again) is a music studio album recording by SAINT JUST (Prog Folk/Progressive Rock) released in on cd, lp / vinyl and/or cassette/5(5).

4 Replies to “Saint Just - Saint Just Again - Prog Explosion (CDr, Album)”

  1. Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Saint Just - Saint Just Again - Prog Explosion at Discogs. Complete your Saint Just collection/5(8).
  2. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Saint Just Again - Prog Explosion on Discogs.5/5(3).
  3. Discogs: coloured vinyl, orange Vinyl, Saint Just Again - Prog Explosion. リリースのクレジット、レビュー、トラックを確認し、購入。5/5(3).
  4. Discogs: Vinyl, Saint Just Again - Prog Explosion. リリースのクレジット、レビュー、トラックを確認し、購入。5/5(2).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *